Part 2 in the “I’m-Making-This-Up-As-I-Go-Along” Quilt!

So you have your 64 fabric squares cut out, right? Check!  Good…because I’m ready to move on with the next step and you might be, too.  Again, we’re keeping this a simple, no-stress project so we’re doing this in “baby steps”. Here’s what you’ll want to do next!

Step 1:  Take one light color square and one dark color square and set side-by-side.

Step 2:  With right sides together, place the light color square on top of the dark color square.

Step 3:  With a ruler and pencil (or disappearing ink fabric pen) draw a line from one corner to the next. I like to draw this line on the light color fabric square.

         

Step 4:  Take these 2 blocks to your sewing machine. Sew 1/4″ on each side of that drawn line.
                *Note:  Sewing a 1/4″ seam is a standard measurement in quilting and is important so that everything lines up correctly. 

Step 5:  Cut the squares apart by cutting across the line you drew.

Open those up and take a peek! You have just completed what is called a “Half Square Triangle!” Can you see why? Isn’t that cute?

Remember how I mentioned  to cut your 4×4″ squares in *even* numbers, right?  So repeat these same 5 steps with another set of 2 fabrics that are the same as you just did.  It’s like I am starting over again with the same 2 fabric squares shown above:

Repeat this process for the rest of your 4×4″ squares. 

OK, that’s all for today!  We’re taking this just a bit at a time, so keep checking back for those next steps.  Have fun!!

-Kim

30 Comments

Filed under Make-It-Up-As-You-Go Quilt, YCMT Sew Along

30 responses to “Part 2 in the “I’m-Making-This-Up-As-I-Go-Along” Quilt!

  1. hmm, one of my ’09 goals is to learn how to quilt… I’ve done lots of sewing, but not nearly enough to have a large stash. I think I may have to find some fat quarters and join in! Seems easy enough (until you get to the binding part – that SCARES me!!) I’ll post my progress on my blog.

    http://www.sewcutebabe.blogspot.com

    -Sarah-

  2. How fun! I’m ready to join along. I’ll be sewing my squares together and posting updates on my blog. You always have such fun ideas Kim!

    mamakrit.blogspot.com

  3. I think I’m going to try joining in.

    And I was about to learn this exact technique about one year ago…lol

  4. Ann

    Hello,

    this is all new to me, but I am in. I will have to report my progress here tho. I am going to cut my blocks from my stash this afternoon.

    Thanks for this it looks like fun.

    Ann

  5. Kelli

    I am very interested…I’ve only done triangles once before. I can’t wait. Now–I’ve got to catch up by cutting and sewing!

  6. Yay, a new step! I have been so excited to see what to do next!

    http://sistertosisterdesign.blogspot.com/

  7. Never quilted before but have generation after generation of fabulous quilters in my family – maybe I’ve inherited the gene! I’m going to give this a shot, but I’m already two days behind!

  8. Ok, I’ll play – What the heck. Who can passs up step by step instructions. :<)

  9. Oh, fun! I’m crocheting like a mad woman these days and love the idea of breaking it up a bit with a hodge podge quilt. Count me in! Now I’m off to get caught up on the steps so far!

  10. Christine S.

    Thanks Kim, After about 4 months of sewing nothing (suffering a dry spell of creativity), this is the starter I needed to kick start myself again.
    I look forward to see what everyone creates. I will catch up with you today!! Happy quilting.

  11. Im joining! I will post updates on my blog at kbennettphotography.blogspot.com

  12. I have a question… I know this is a “no-stress” project… hahahaha… but I’m stressing… I have charm packs that I bought a while ago… for a twirl skirt… but now I want to use them for this project… they are precut 5 x 5… can I use those or should I cut those down?

    This is my first quilt.
    :)
    carol

  13. I just finished step 1! It took me WAY longer to pick out the fabric than it did to cut the blocks!

    I posted about it here:

    http://scientificseamstress.blogspot.com/2009/01/im-sewing-along.html

  14. Nanny Ann

    I have been out of state visiting family and don’t expect to be home for several more days. It has been a great and long visit, but I have had no internet until today. This project really excites me, so you can be sure I will try to catch up when I do finally arrive at home. Looking forward to working with you all on this. Ann

  15. Sazzie

    Fantastic idea – I have loads of fabric scraps – I will definately be joining in and giving this a go even though I have never quilted before

  16. Judea

    My daughter and I have been wanting to learn how to quilt so I will tell her after school today that we are going to do a suprise project together. She did great on the doll clothes for Toys for Tots at only 9 so I know she will be a big help and have something to show for her accomplishment at the end.

  17. OK, I just decided I am going to give it a try. What a fun way to learn…baby steps!!! I am so excited. I guess I am joing a little late, but I will catch up. I have a lot of leftover fabric from all of the twirly skirts and hats I have made using YCMT patterns. Yah!
    I also just created a blog, too. Man, I am on a roll this new year. I will post pics of my progress, too. Thanks for the fun!

    -stacy

  18. ycmt

    Hi Carol!
    Yes, you can definitely use a 5×5 square for this project. Any size will work, as long as it is a perfect square. I’m excited to see what you’ll do!

    Have fun!
    Kim

  19. Anne

    I love this! I’m totally going to do one with you. I too have a ton of scrap fabrics that I just can’t part with. Thank you for posting the steps!

  20. Helen C.

    This is very cool. Thanks for doing and sharing. Helpful to have it broken down into ‘manageable’ pieces.

  21. I am so excited to make this, I am using some Christmas fabric and getting started on one of my Christmas gifts for 09′ :o)

  22. I bought my fabric and a new ruler yesterday. When I get my daughter up from her nap I will tackle cutting out the fabric. I currently have zero stash around so I’m starting fresh. I have decided to really shrink the quilt down though and make it the size of a bath mat. I have been meaning to make one for at least six months now to keep my husband from drenching the floor after his showers. I figure this way I can make a fun bath mat that will match my bathroom while having fun with all of you.
    I’m debating making my squares 2.5″x 2.5″

  23. I may be getting ahead here, but should we press them?

    Dana

  24. Dawn G

    I’m a little late but I’ve picked out my fabrics and I’m ready to cut squares. I blogged about it here http://7alltogether.blogspot.com/

  25. Ugh, I keep checking to see if step 3 is here yet…I’m waiting in anticipation!

  26. ? so we are only creating 2 4×4 triangle squares? (minus the diagonal seam).

  27. Carmel

    CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT INSTALMENT, THANKYOU.

  28. Misty

    Well…whatdoyaknow….JoAnn’s had a sale on fat quarters for 99 cents! I guess I’m in! I’ve certainly never done this before, but I did make a shaggy quilt for my mom for Christmas. It turned out great, so now I want something for me! I guess I better hurry and catch up!

  29. Nancy

    Thank you for inspiring me to use up some of my scraps :)

  30. alishasays

    I need to get started on this! I have tons of scrap fabric!

Leave a Reply

