News Flash! People are talking about the Thrifty 50!

Come and watch our video segment on yesterday’s “Good Things Utah” television program. See items that many of the “Thrifty 50” have made and learn more about what you can make, too!

http://www.abc4.com/mediacenter/local.aspx?videoid=89908@video.ktvx.com

The El Paso Times ran a story this past Sunday about the Thrifty Fifty, too! Thank you Maria for your great article!

The “Madness of Motherhood” show just aired a podcast about YouCanMakeThis.com, and Boutique Cafe will be airing one soon, too!

And here’s a blog you’ll want to check out.  I met Leighann of “Your Homebased Mom” at a conference this past September. Not only is she extremely talented, but she is the kind of person that you could become the best of friends with instantly. She recently made the flowered headbands and blogged about it here. Once you’re at her blog, you’re going to love what you see. Don’t miss making her homemade hot fudge sauce.  I had to bring dessert to a recent party, and decided to give that a try, along with peppermint ice cream and brownies. It was a hit, to say the least, and was the easiest, but most yummy thing to make. It won’t be  the last thing I make from her collection of amazing recipes.  Cooking has never been my most favorite thing to do, but her recipes make me want to give the whole cooking thing another “go!” (And I might actually have fun with it, too!)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “News Flash! People are talking about the Thrifty 50!

  1. Andrea

    I don’t know where to put this comment, but in the email newsletter, you wrote that your final numbers were not in, but so far 1348 gifts at $896.36 total – you calculated $1.50 ea, but your math is wrong – you should divide $896.36/1348 to get $0.66 per gift! much more shocking result!

    sorry – I am an engineer, so I had to correct your math! (obviously not an English major with my run-on sentence, though! LOL)

  2. val

    I saw the video feed from news 4, that is an awesome clip! I know I have made all my kids pajamas from my FABLE closet (Fabric Accumulated Beyond Life Expectancy)

    I have also been making tons of things out of my Christmas Scrapbook paper. I find that I can’t seem to resist it every year, but I don’t have that many Christmas pages to do, so using it for Christmas gifts and small packages seems a far nobler idea.

    In today’s economy, I have to think a lot more people are jumping on this bandwagon!. Keep it up, it’s inspiring.
    Val

  3. Awesome job on the shows Kim! Can’t wait to hear the Boutique Cafe one!

    I loved Leighann’s website! Thanks!

  4. linda turske

    Where do you find all the pictures and information of what the Thrifty 50 teams created?

    I’d love to see them but am having trouble finding them.

  5. ycmt

    Hi Linda-
    Search”Thrifty 50″ on the search bar at the top of the blog and you’ll find links and photos there.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

